What IS Hoarding?

What IS Hoarding?


Understanding the Levels of Hoarding


At HoardingPros we use the following scale as a guideline to determine the severity of the hoarding problem and to set up our plan to deal with the hoard. We hope it will be helpful information for you.




The criteria for five levels of hoarding have been set up by the National Study Group on Chronic Disorganization (NSGCD), entitled the NSGCD Clutter Hoarding Scale. This scale distinguishes five levels of hoarding with Level I being the least severe and Level V being the worst.

Within each level there are four specific categories which define the severity of clutter and hoarding potential:

  1. Structure and Zoning
  2. Pets and Rodents
  3. Household Functions
  4. Sanitation and Cleanliness